JSO – Stage-1

Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education is the nodal centre of the country for Olympiad programmes in mathematics and sciences including astronomy. The programmes aim at promoting excellence in science and mathematics among pre-university students.The Junior Science Olympiad program (for students of Class and lower) will follow the following 5 stages:

Stage I : National Standard Examination in Junior Science (NSEJS)
Stage II : Indian National Junior Science Olympiad (INJSO)
Stage III : Orientation cum Selection Camp (OCSC) in junior science
Stage IV : Pre-departure Training Camp (PDT) for IJSO
Stage V : Participation in International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO)

Stage I National Standard Eminatio n in Junior Science (NSEJS)

NSEJS is held at a large number of centres in the country.


All Indian students who are are in Class 10th or lower , are eligible to appear in NSEJS . If they qualify in the NSEJS, they will be eligible for subsequent stages leading to participation in International Junior Science Olympiad .


The syllabus for NSEJS will be broadly equivalent to the secondary school level (upto Class 10th) of CBSE. The different basic subjects of science (physics, chemistry, biology and mathematics) will have roughly equal emphasis.

Question Paper

The question paper will consist of 80 multiple choice questions, each with only one of the four options correct.